Sammy Shelor to be inducted into Virginia Music Hall of Fame


Sammy Shelor
Sammy Shelor

Sammy Shelor, member of the bluegrass group, LONESOME RIVER BAND will be inducted into the Virginia Music Hall of Fame during the Association’s 10th Annual Jumpin’ Bluegrass Festival held September 17-20, 2009 at the Chesterfield, Virginia County Fairgrounds.  Shelor joins a long list of previous Hall of Famers including: Roy Clark, Mother Mabelle, Mac Wiseman, Statler Brothers, Patsy Cline, Tony Rice, Bill Yates, Larry Stephenson and many other talented artists. “I’m honored to be recognized by the Virginia Music Hall of Fame and my home State of Virginia,” said Shelor.

Shelor will receive his Hall of Fame Honor on Friday, September 18th, plus take the stage with the Lonesome River Band for what is surely to be a memorable performance.  The band is celebrating a highly successful #1 album, “No Turning Back” (Rural Rhythm Records) that includes numerous current chart singles.  Also appearing on Friday are: Code Blue, Church Sisters, GCH-Wings of Love, Copper Ridge, plus the Special Recognition Award presented to Ray Pollard, Founder of Gospel Chicken House.

Other performers during the 4-day event include:  one of Virginia’s most beloved female vocalists and bands, Michelle & Nixon & Drive with special guest Nick Nixon, The James King Band, Borrowed Time, Thunder Creek, and many more.  On Saturday, the Heritage Music Youth Scholarships will be presented to three 13-year olds: Matt Henderson, TJ Honaker and Gaven Largent.  The Bluegrass Championship Contest will be held on Sunday, September 20th, emceed by Henry Fulcher with a $1,000 award presented to the 1st place band.  It will also include a performance by the 2008 Band Champion – Grit City Grass.

LRB-PRESSwall2008-xsmallMore information on SAMMY SHELOR and LONESOME RIVER BAND
Sammy Shelor is also receiving another special recognition as a nominee for the 2009 International Bluegrass Music Association’s (IBMA) Banjo Performer of the Year award.  The Lonesome River Band is nominated in two categories including the IBMA Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year (“Struttin to Ferrum”) and the Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year (“Darkness Wept”), tracks from “NO TURNING BACK.” Winners will be announced during the IBMA Awards Show on Thursday, October 1, 2009 at the Ryman Auditorium. Please visit the band’s website for more info.

logo-VirginiaFolkMusicMore information on the JUMPIN’ BLUEGRASS 09
Ticket prices for The Jumpin’ Bluegrass 09 are only $5 per day (4 day with parking pass $25); day parking $5 car; Full camping $25/day; Electric $10/day; Tent Camping $5/day.  For more information on the festival or the Virginia Folk Music Association, please visit: or view Festival flyer in pdf.  For questions, please contact: Sigrid Williams, President of the VFMA at 804-347-2925 or via email

Media Contact for Sammy Shelor and The Lonesome River Band:
Hope River Entertainmentemail

Booking Contact for Lonesome River Band:
Roe Entertainment email

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s