New Single from Ralph Stanley II & The Clinch Mountain Boys

Stanley Family Records is proud to announce a landmark new single, “Goin’ Round This World” by Ralph Stanley II & The Clinch Mountain Boys. The song appears on the band’s self-titled album releasing this summer. This is the first recording released since Ralph II honored his father’s wishes by taking over the Clinch Mountain Boys band name last year after his passing.  These big shoes are being filled by the talents of previous Clinch Mountain Boy John Rigsby on fiddle and mandolin, Alex Leach on banjo, Noah Brown on the upright bass, and Ralph II on the guitar.

Ralph II has earned two Grammy nominations on previous albums including a Grammy Award on Lost in the Lonesome Pines along with his father, Dr. Ralph Stanley for their collaboration with Jim Lauderdale. Ralph II has also proven to be an accomplished songwriter and has six solo albums, along with the highly-acclaimed duet album with his father titled Side by Side.

The Ralph Stanley II and The Clinch Mountain Boys’ self-titled album will officially release on Friday, May 26, 2017 during Dr. Ralph Stanley’s 47th Annual Hills of Home Bluegrass Festival to be held Memorial Day weekend in Coeburn. For the past six years, Ralph II has successfully carried on his father’s legacy by running the event. This year will be no exception as it includes a stellar line-up with: Jim Lauderdale, Larry Sparks & The Lonesome Ramblers, Dave Adkins Band, Flatt Lonesome, and a very special artist announcement coming soon.

 “Goin’ Round This World” was written by Ralph II, Alex Leach, and Joe Rose and will be serviced to radio stations today.  The song was released for sale March 30 on CDBaby  and available on  iTunes, Amazon and more digital outlets.

More on Ralph Stanley II

As one might expect for the son of a renowned banjo player, the first instrument Ralph II ever held was a banjo. At the ripe old age of three, Ralph (or simply “Two” as he is called by his family and friends), had his first lesson from the elder Stanley, learning a simple finger roll. It turned out, however, that he would not be following in his father’s footsteps, when it came to his choice of instrument. He soon fell under the spell of the undisputed king of boyhood musical desires, the guitar.

Despite his interest in the guitar, and the fact that he was occasionally traveling with the Clinch Mountain Boys on the road, he had not yet developed an ambition to play professionally. It took until age twelve and an old 1977 video of the late Keith Whitley during his tenure as lead singer for the Clinch Mountain Boys, to inspire him to become a professional musician. After seeing Whitley with the elder Stanley, he was hooked and spent hours in the family basement honing his skills, and weathering the comparisons to his late Uncle Carter. His persistence paid off, and he took the stage as lead singer with Ralph Sr. and the Clinch Mountain Boys in June of 1995. Since then, he has earned the respect of Stanley fans everywhere, and has garnered praise as a strong new artist in his own right.

Charlie Sizemore Featured on Cover of Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine

Charlie Sizemore is featured on the cover of the February 2012 issue of Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine that includes a rare interview with the acclaimed, singer-songwriter.  Sizemore uncharacteristically opens up about his music, his career as a lawyer, his hit album HEARTACHE LOOKING FOR A HOME (Rounder Records), and single No Lawyers in Heaven.”

HEARTACHE LOOKING FOR A HOME reached #1 on Cashbox Magazine’s Top 20 Bluegrass Album Chart last summer, was chosen in Bluegrass Today’s Top 10 Albums of 2011, and spent numerous months on SiriusXM Radio’s Bluegrass Junction’s Most Played Albums chart.  No Lawyers In Heaven,” spent two consecutive months at #1 on Bluegrass Unlimited Magazine’s Top 30 Songs chart (Oct-Nov ’11), #1 on Bluegrass Music Profiles Magazine’s Top 30 Hot Singles chart (Jul ’11), and reached #1 on Power Source Magazine’s Top 35 Albums chart (Oct ’11). says Sizemore “possesses one of the finest, most unaffected bluegrass voices I’ve come across,” and his fans certainly agree.  There are numerous favorites on this hot album including the popular “Red Wicked Wine” with special guest, Ralph Stanley that certainly brings back memories of Sizemore’s days with the Clinch Mountain Boys.  Other fan choices include “Ashley Judd” along with title track, “Heartache Looking for a Home” that has spent numerous months on SiriusXM Radio’s Bluegrass Junction Most Played Tracks.

The Charlie Sizemore Band is now on tour and includes the talents of: Charlie Sizemore (lead vocals, guitar); Danny Barnes (mandolin, vocals); Charles Fields (bass); Josh McMurray (banjo, vocals); and Paul Kramer (fiddle and vocals).

For more information on the Charlie Sizemore Band, please visit their website or check out NPR’s Mountain Stage to hear the band’s recent performance.

Please contact Hope River Entertainment for Bookings and Media Requests.

Rounder to Release Charlie Sizemore’s Newest Album February 15

Rounder Records press release:

Rounder Records is pleased to announce the February 15 release of Charlie Sizemore’s Heartache Looking for a Home. It is the follow-up to his outstanding 2007 Rounder debut, Good News. A native of eastern Kentucky, Sizemore was hired at age 17 to take over for the departing Keith Whitley in Ralph Stanley’s Clinch Mountain Boys, with whom he stayed for nine years before leaving to start his own band and to attend college.

Sizemore graduated with honors, and now maintains a successful law practice in addition to his musical endeavors. Sizemore is highly regarded as a vocalist, songwriter, instrumentalist and bandleader, his songs have been recorded by Ralph Stanley, Jimmy Martin, Doyle Lawson and Dry Branch Fire Squad to name a few.

While Sizemore didn’t write any of the 14 songs on the new album, there’s a common thread of restlessness, of yearning, in the material chosen so carefully. The people in these songs are all seeking comfort, some momentary peace, in a lover’s arms in “Down in the Quarter,” in a glass of “Red Wicked Wine” or in fantasies of unobtainable women — in the movies (“Ashley Judd”) or the apartment upstairs (“Walking the Floor Over Me.”). And while this isn’t a concept album, our restless soul finds peace at last, closing with “Crossing Over Into the Valley,” a love song of homecoming to the Shenandoah Valley: “Sweet sanctuary, welcome me in.”

Charlie is joined on this album by the four like-minded musicians in The Charlie Sizemore Band — banjo player Josh McMurray, resonator guitarist Matt DeSpain, mandolinist Danny Barnes and bassist John Pennell. There’s no flash-for-flash-sake. All play with the same restrained soulfulness that’s a Sizemore trademark. Even as he reaches beyond bluegrass for material, his Charlie Sizemore Band remains firmly rooted in the sound he was raised on. “It could be my years with Ralph, but I’ve never thought of us as anything but a traditional bluegrass band.”

Heartache covers lots of ground, musically and geographically, which suits Charlie just fine. “I don’t want to make the record I made previously. I just try to keep it interesting for me.”

Track listing for Heartache Looking for a Home:

  1. Down in the Quarter 2:14
  2. Red Wicked Wine 2:38
  3. No Lawyers in Heaven 3:01
  4. Heartache Looking for a Home 1:58
  5. Feelin’ Like El Paso 2:58
  6. Slow Goin’ 2:36
  7. Walking The Floor Over Me 2:22
  8. I Don’t Remember Loving You 3:39
  9. Poor Rambler 3:01
  10. Ashley Judd 2:06
  11. Fords of Pittman 2:48
  12. Pay No Attention to Alice 3:16
  13. Going to Georgia 2:03
  14. Crossing Over Into the Valley 2:47