NASHVILLE, TN – January 26, 2024 – With a career beginning on Atlantic Records and highlighted by a recent GRAMMY® nomination and musicality centered around stirring vocal performances, renowned bluegrass artist Dave Adkins adds to the canon of bluegrass with his highly-anticipated Billy Blue Records debut, What I’m For, on January 26th. 

The album is a serious yet joyful reflection on life following Adkins’ recent successful bout with cancer. His renewed hope, purpose, and resilience shine through the authenticity and musical integrity of the album. The album features a collection of tracks that embody Adkins’ artistic evolution, a perfect blend of traditional bluegrass elements fused with contemporary influences. From heartfelt ballads to foot-stomping bluegrass anthems, the tracks are woven masterfully together to showcase Adkins’ unparalleled vocal and musical craftsmanship. 

His rendition of the classic Creedence Clearwater Revival’s “Bad Moon Rising” is an incredible heart-racing interpretation of this classic. Infused with Adkins’ unique vocal style and his bluegrass roots, the song takes on a new dimension and “…makes for a natural grassification with its irrepressible beat,” as stated by music writer John Lawless. The track perfectly captures the essence of the original while adding a distinct Adkins flare that is unmistakably his own.

On the title track, “What I’m For,” Adkins celebrates love, freedom, and the simple pleasures that make life worthwhile. With its catchy melody and authentic lyrics, Adkins performance encourages listeners to embrace positivity in every circumstance by focusing on what they are for rather than what they are against.

The album features a who’s who list of prominent country, Gospel, and bluegrass songwriters including Allen Shamblin, Marc Beeson, John Fogerty, Jerry Salley, Brent Baxter, Frank Myers, Tammy Rogers-King, Tim Raybon, Gary Baker, Bart Millard, Greg Crowe, Lee Black, and more.

In excitement of the album release, Dave Adkins states, “I’m beyond excited about my new release on Billy Blue Records! I love Ed Leonard and the Billy Blue family and what they have brought into my life. They were wonderful. I owe Jerry Salley a lot of gratitude for being an amazing producer and what a great job he did on this record. I am also thankful for the musicians and songwriters for their contributions to my favorite record so far. I can’t wait for you all to hear it.”

Jerry Salley, producer and A&R/creative director of Billy Blue Records, stated, “Working with Dave in the studio was one of the greatest experiences in my producing career! His voice is as big as his heart, and I love the way he pours sincere emotion into every note he sings. But he is not only a great singer. He is an artist. And a great song guy.  He knows how to pick songs that will move listeners, and that is a quality that separates great singers from great artists!”

Adkins is set to debut tracks from his new release on January 26th at the Society for the Preservation of Bluegrass Music in America (SPBGMA) annual confab in Nashville, TN. 

Album credits:

Executive Producer: Dottie Leonard Miller

Producer: Jerry Salley

Harmony vocals: Jerry Salley, Magnolia Williams, Zack Vickers, Ari Silver

Banjo: Aaron McDaris

Resonator Guitar and Mandolin: Justin Moses

Bass: Jeff Partin

Fiddle and Guitar: Jason Roller


There is no mistaking the raw and powerful vocals by singer, songwriter, and guitarist Dave Adkins. His significant chart success and his stellar live performances have made him one of the most talked-about male vocalists in acoustic music. In 2010, he formed the group, Dave Adkins & Republik Steele. Adkins’ soulful vocals earned him a 2013 SPBGMA nomination as Contemporary Male Vocalist of the Year followed by multiple top charting songs. In 2014, Adkins released his first solo album Nothing To Lose. The album had numerous #1 song on bluegrass music charts, including Bluegrass Today and the Roots Music Report. Adkins is featured twice on the Grammy® nominated Gonna Sing Gonna Shout album and was recently nominated for SPBGMA Male Vocalist of the Year award in 2022.


Billy Blue Records is a boutique bluegrass label, home to an award-winning roster of artists, including Adam McIntosh, Alan Bibey and Grasstowne, Appalachian Road Show, Barry Abernathy, Darin & Brooke Aldridge, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Donna Ulisse, Jason Barie, Joe Mullins & the Radio Ramblers, Kristy Cox, Marty Raybon, Tennessee Bluegrass Band, Country Faith Bluegrass, and the Grammy-nominated recording Gonna Sing Gonna Shout. Founded in 2018 by Jerry Salley, Ed Leonard, and Dottie Leonard Miller, Billy Blue is distributed to retail by the Orchard (Sony) and New Day Distribution.

For radio service, contact Tiffany Noecker. For more information, contact Jerry Salley or Jules Wortman.

For Booking & Media, contact Penni McDaniel, Hope River Entertainment, [email protected].

Track Listing:

  1. She Put The Go In Gone – (Jerry Salley/Brent Baxter) Very Jerry Music (SESAC)/Arkansas Manganese Music Publishing (BMI)
  2. Tear Thirty– (Jerry Salley/Alex Dooley) Banner Music/Banner Bison Songs Music Publishing/Extry Good Music (SESAC)/Big Banner Music (BMI)
  3. Bad Moon Rising – (John C. Fogerty) Jondora Music (BMI) (admin. by Concord Music Publishing, LLC)
  4. What I’m For– (Allen Shamblin/Marc Beeson) Built On Rock Music (ASCAP)/Songs Of Southside (Warner Chappell)/Wounded Sky (ASCAP)
  5. Ole Rooster – (Dennis Morgan/Shawn Camp/Billy Burnette) Little Shop Of Morgansongs (BMI)/Camp Family Music (BMI) (admin by Hipnosis Song Group)/Yesrod Music (BMI) (admin by Songs Of Kobalt
  6. Rock Pile– (Jerry Salley/Lee Black) Very Jerry Music (SESAC)/Christian Taylor Music (BMI)
  7. I’m Ready For The Weekend– (Timothy Wade Raybon) Tim Raybon Music (BMI)
  8. Wish I Would’ve Fished More– (Greg Crowe/Julia Carlson/Dave Carlson) Greg Crowe Music (SESAC)/Anthem Red Vinyl Music (BMI)
  9. Life’s Highway – (Frank J. Myers/Tammy Rogers-King/Gary Baker) Foxland Harbor Songs (BMI)/Tammy’s Tunes (SESAC)/118 Music/Noiseblock Music Publishing (ASCAP)
  10. I Miss America– (Jim Rushing/Allen Shamblin) Rushing Oaks Music (ASCAP)/Songs of Otis Barker (ASCAP)/Stage Three Songs (ASCAP) all rights admin by BMG Rights Management, LLC/Built On Rock Music (ASCAP)
  11. I Can Only Imagine– (Bart Marshall Millard) Essential Music Publishing